Search

When Should I Block URLs in My Robots.txt File?

• Thread starter Cameron
  • Start date
Cameron

Cameron

Reaction Score
I have a quick question. I recently launched a classifieds website and the software is somewhat of a mess. It's not optimized for search engines at all and I think there are many pages that aren't necessary for the crawlers to crawl. So my question is, how do I know what to block in my robots.txt file? Which pages should I block? What will happen if I block them? I am pretty new at this.

CampFireJack

CampFireJack

Reaction Score
This is actually a great question. While not a lot of focus is placed in the robots.txt file in the SEO world anymore, it's actually one of the best methods for managing search engine crawling on a website. There have been many other and more modern methods for handling SEO introduced through the years, but nothing compares to the power of this one file. All the big sites use theirs extensively. From Amazon to Ebay to Google itself. Have you ever seen these files? I'll link to them here:

https://www.amazon.com/robots.txt

https://www.ebay.com/robots.txt

https://www.google.com/robots.txt

As you can see, the robots.txt file is alive and well. These big guys have got tons blocked.