Search

Dye versus Pigment Ink: Which is Better For Photo Printing?

• Thread starter 15Katey
  • Start date
15Katey

15Katey

Reaction Score
I’ve been doing a lot of photo printing as of late and I’m learning tons about the process. Over the past few months, I’ve discovered all sorts of things regarding the paper that produces the best results, the types of files that are necessary as well as the wide range of printers that are available. One area I haven’t focused on until recently is the actually ink that’s used to print color images. Well, I guess I should say “black and white” and color images. After all, black and whites take up a huge space in this arena.

I’ll admit that I’m no expert when it comes to knowing every last detail of high quality printing methods and supplies. I will say, however, that I’m a very fast study and after just a few hours of delving into a subject such as this, I’m confident that I can accurately educate someone on the topic. Well, let’s just say that I’ve done my homework and this is my report. I think I know what I’m talking about now.

In today’s post, I’d like to discuss a few features of two different types of color printing ink. These two inks are dye and pigment. I’m sure you’ve heard of both of these. Each of these inks has its positive attributes as well as negative attributes. When shopping for a photo printer, it’s critical that you know what you’re looking for when it comes time to do the actual printing. If you don’t get it right when you’re laying out the money for the printer, you may actually be throwing that money away.

printed-photograph.jpg