Search

Where to Invest During Inflation

• Thread starter JodyBuchanan
  • Start date
JodyBuchanan

JodyBuchanan

Reaction Score
There are tons of asset classes out there, but only a few are appropriate for investing in when inflation is occurring or is right around the corner. It's best to educate yourself on what's smart and not smart investing at times like this. In this post, I'll attempt to shed some light on how you can handle your money during inflationary periods. Just remember, I'm no expert. If you would like expert advice on which to rely, you'll need to seek out a professional advisor. I'm just basing what I write off of my own personal experience and research.

Before I begin, let's talk about what inflation actually is. Inflation, in no uncertain terms, is the measure of the spending power of a particular currency. As I'm sure you've seen, it's measured in percentages. So if you hear something like, "Boy, inflation has really gone up this year. It's past 10%!," that would mean that the value of the dollar has dropped by 10% over the previous year. There are a number of reasons this may happen, but it's primarily caused by the introduction of additional currency into the economy via debt. When banks are making loans at an increasing rate, inflation in some or all parts of the economy are sure to follow. We all remember the housing bubble of the eary 2000s. I actually purchased two houses during that time and the banks were practically throwing money at me. Sure enough, as those banks made loans, the price of housing skyrocketed, which resulted in a reduced purchasing power for me. It seemed like as the weeks passed, my dollar could purchase less than the week before.