Search

Grouping Adjustment Layers + Smart Objects in Adobe Photoshop

• Thread starter WendyMay
  • Start date
WendyMay

WendyMay

Reaction Score
Much of what you can accomplish inside of Adobe Photoshop is very straightforward. If you want to resize a photograph, all it takes is a few simple clicks. To alter some colors or adjust the contrast of that same photo, just a few more clicks. Many of the online Photoshop tutorials available can teach you what you need to do for about 90% of the scenarios you come across, but for the rest of them, you’ll need to use your creativity. Once you know the basics of how Photoshop works, you’ll need to piece things together to figure out new ways of working with your own style. Trust me, there’s a lot you can do inside this application. I’m not even sure anyone has figured the entire thing out yet. Sometimes, it seems to go on forever. And I’ve been working with Photoshop for over 20 years. It’s deep.

In today’s post, I’d like to wander through a scenario of my own in an effort to show you just how you can mix and match a few of Photoshop’s more simple features. I’ll use adjustment layers, layer groups and Smart Objects to alter an image in an entirely new way. If you read this post all the way through to the bottom, I’m certain you’ll learn something new.

Today’s Demo Photo​

For today’s post, I’ll be using a photo of anything. Like so many other posts where the photo content doesn’t matter, I picked this one up from a huge pile of pictures. Here it is. It’s of a race car.

race-car.jpg

Adding Some Adjustment Layers​

To start things off, I’ll need to set my file up. For this section, I’ll be adding three different adjustment layers that will alter the appearance of this image. I’ll start off by adding a Gradient Map from the Adjustments panel. I’ll set the colors of the gradient to go from a dark orange on the left to white on the right. Then, I’ll set the blending mode to Overlay and I’ll keep the Opacity set to 100%.