Search

How to Activate Video Timeline Keyboard Shortcuts in Adobe Photoshop

• Thread starter JodyBuchanan
  • Start date
JodyBuchanan

JodyBuchanan

Reaction Score
Have you ever watched a professional video editor work? I have and I can tell you it’s like watching Wile E. Coyote chase the Road Runner. I’m telling ya – fingers fly all over the place and the whole process is a blur. It’s the same way with audio editing. I’ve got a lot of experience with that and every time I see a pro edit sound, I’m blown away.

With both of these types of editing, keyboard shortcuts are at the center of the process. I couldn’t even imagine how slow and cumbersome these tasks would be if the editor had to stop, reach for their mouse, maneuver the mouse into position and click – every single time they wanted to do something. I couldn’t even imagine that. Needless to say, editing any type of media requires the use of the keyboard and the more you can rely on that piece of input, the faster things will get done.

In today’s post, I’d like to talk about how we can enable a feature in Adobe Photoshop that will allow us to use keyboard shortcuts while editing video. The actual process of activating this feature is simple. It’s the describing what the available keyboard shortcuts are that will take more time. Also, there’s a small bit to mention regarding which controls take priority when using different tools. I’ll cover all of this below.

Enabling the Video Timeline Keyboard Shortcuts​

Like I mentioned above, enabling the use of keyboard shortcuts when using the Timeline panel in Adobe Photoshop is easy. All I need to do is make sure the panel is open and then head over to the menu that’s located at the upper right part of it. Then, I’ll click that menu button.

timeline-panel-menu.jpg