Search

How to Use the Note Tool in Adobe Photoshop

• Thread starter JodyBuchanan
  • Start date
JodyBuchanan

JodyBuchanan

Reaction Score
I’ve been coding websites since 1998. I can remember the first web page I ever made. It was for a college class and we had to learn all sorts of stuff. How to change text attributes, add images and how to add links to the page were just a few. One of the techniques I picked up in later years, as my coding became much more complex, was how to add comments. Comments saved me so many times because I was able to finally explain myself in regular English, as opposed to HTML, PHP and Javascript.

Another perk of commenting code was having the ability to leave notes and messages for others who might be working on the same project as I was. Instead of them being forced to translate some very tough to read gibberish, they could easily pick up on what my intent with something was. It was, and still is, a great feature to take advantage of.

Another area I use comments quite often is inside of Google Analytics. It wasn’t up until a few years ago that Google offered this feature, but it’s become indispensable since that time. I’ve used it to record milestones in my website traffic as well as to record various instances that I’ve made rather large changes. There’s nothing worse than seeing a traffic drop or increase and not knowing if it was related to something I was responsible for or not. Creating comments inside of this incredible website traffic statistics application helps me remember what’s going on.

Basically, what I’m trying to do here is to build a case for utilizing comments, or rather notes in this case, when they’re available. Whether it’s to keep your own sanity or to share with others when working on a team, communication is essential and small messages left along the path can help out immensely.